History 2010’s

Board Members:

  • Michelle Adam, Florida Keys Community College
  • Dwayne Alton, Lee County Public Schools
  • Shelly Ardis, Florida School for the Deaf and Blind
  • Patty Barney, Broward College
  • Joe Binswanger, Sarasota County Schools
  • Dr. Donald Boulware, Volusia County Public Schools
  • Stephen Bowen, Florida Department of Education
  • Tim Brown, North West Regional Data Center (NWRDC)
  • John Bunch, Tallahassee Community College
  • Marsha Cole, Duval County Public Schools
  • Jim Culbert, Duval County Public Schools
  • Ryan Deising, Flagler
  • Jason Dudley, Edison State College
  • Patrick Fletcher, Manatee
  • Bruce Green, School District of Indian River County
  • Betsy Hacker, College Center for Library Automation (CCLA)
  • Scott Hansen, School Board of Marion County
  • Melissa Harts, Pasco-Hernando State College
  • Carl Hendrick, School District of Clay County
  • Feng Hou, State College of Florida, Chief Information Officer
  • Tom Ingram, Escambia County Public Schools
  • Candy Garcia, NEFEC
  • David Jasa, St. Lucie Public Schools
  • Rick Laneau, Hillsborough County Public Schools
  • Henry Martin, Walton County School District
  • Ron Nieto, Florida Department of Education
  • Bill Nimmons, Leon County Schools
  • John Opper, Florida Virtual Campus
  • Bruce Patrou, St. Johns County School District
  • Daya Pendharkar, Hillsborough Community College
  • Bill Piowtrowski, Leon County Public Schools
  • Dave Smith, Bay County Public Schools
  • Cali Stringer, Florida Department of Education
  • Abdu Taguri, Polk County Public Schools
  • Patsy Warmack
  • Betsy Wetzel, Eastern Florida State College
  • Bill White, Valencia College
  • Marybeth Windham, Baker County Public Schools

Major Accomplishments

The 2010 conference was negatively impacted by the severe budget cuts occurring throughout Florida. In 2014, the board developed a new vision (Transformational Leaders in Educational Technology) and mission (FAEDS empowers Florida K-20 educational leaders to leverage innovative information and learning technologies to drive institutional efficiencies and student success) for the organization. FAEDS celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2014 and commissioned a comprehensive update to FAEDS History by  Dr. Bill Piotrowsi and Mr. Bill Nimmons. In 2015, the conference moved to Daytona Beach where it remained for three years before returning to Orlando. In 2016, FAEDS had its first fully online agenda, stopped printing conference programs, and began holding post-conference workshops provided by experts in the field to provide specialized training inexpensively to FAEDS members. In 2019, FAEDS was able to reinstate the scholarship program (suspended after 2014 conference) through a partnership with the Florida Virtual Campus.