History 2014

Board Members:

  • President:  Tom Ingram, Escambia County Public Schools,Director, Information Technology
  • President Elect: Feng Hou, State College of Florida, Chief Information Officer
  • Past President David Jasa, Saint Lucie Public Schools, ITS Program Manager
  • Treasurer: John Opper, Florida Virtual Campus, Executive Director
  • Secretary: Betsy Hacker, Florida Virtual Campus, Executive Direct
  • Webmaster: Bill White,Valencia College, Chief Information Office
  • By-Laws Chair:  Dr. Don Boulware, Volusia County Public Schools
  • Awards Chair:  Dave Smith, Bay County Public Schools, Director, MIS
  • Historian:  Bill Nimmons, Leon County Schools, IT Director
  • Scholarship Chair: Betsy Wetzel, Executive Director IT
  • Board Member:  Bruce Green, School District of Indian Rive County, Assistant Superintendent for Technology & Assessment
  • Board Member:  Jason Dudley, Edison State College, CIO
  • Board Member:  Ron Nieto, Florida Department of Education, Deputy Commissioner of Education

Conference/Workshop Agendas

  • Conference Program 2014
  • Conference Theme: “Innovative Technology Solutions for Student Success!”
  • Highlights – Keynotes: Ron Nieto, Deputy Commissioner of Innovation with the Florida Department of Education, Linda Larsen (http://www.lindalarsen.com/), Vala Afshar, Chief Marketing Officer for Enterasys Networks. Author of “The Pursuit of Social Business Excellence”.

Scholarship/award recipients

  • Robert E. Sims Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to FAEDS
    • William “Bill” Nimmons
    • Candy Garcia
  • Raymond Parker Aid to FAEDS Award
    • Robert L. “Bob” Bedford
    • FOCUS School Software
    • Classroom Technology Solutions
  • William J. English Past-Presidents Award
    • Tom Ingram
  • Jack Kelly Outstanding Educational Technology Award
    • Ron Nieto
  • Honorary Lifetime Memberships
    • Betsy Hacker
  • Sims Scholarship Recipients
    • Krystal Folkes
    • Matthew Fleming
  • English Scholarship Recipients
    • Connor Elkin
    • Carlton Ragsdale
    • Michael Gunter
    • Matthew Chandra



FAEDS Board Members (left to right):  Tom Ingram, Bill Nimmons, Jason Dudley, David Jasa, Feng Hou, Don Boulware, Ron Nieto, Bruce Green, John Opper, Bill White

Major Accomplishments

  • Developed Vision and Mission for the organization
  • Vision – Transformational Leaders in Educational Technology Mission – FAEDS empowers Florida K-20 educational leaders to leverage innovative information and learning technologies to drive institutional efficiencies and student success.
  • Update to FAEDS website
  • A comprehensive update to FAEDS History by  Dr. Bill Piotrowsi and Mr. Bill Nimmons
  • Creation of a separate “History” tab on the website to hold the electronic compilation of historical documentation.